The Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc) Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST-2011) Admission to Ph.D. Programmes in Physics /Theoretical Computer Science

Name of Institute / University

The Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc)

Courses Offered

Admission to Ph.D. Programmes in Physics /Theoretical Computer Science in the following institutions

ARIES: Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital

HBNI: Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai

HRI: Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad

IGCAR: Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam

IIA: Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore

IISc: Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

IISER MOHALI: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali

IISER PUNE: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune

IISER THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram

IMSc: The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai

IOP: Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar

IPR: Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar

IUCAA: Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
JNCASR: Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore

NCRA-TIFR: National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR, Pune

NISER: National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar

PRL: Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad

RRCAT: Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore

RRI: Raman Research Institute, Bangalore

SINP: Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata

SNBNCBS: Satyendra Nath Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata

UGC-DAE CSR: UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore

VECC:Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata


Students who expect to complete their final examination by August 2011 are also eligible to apply.

Ph.D. Programme

Physics: M.Sc. in Physics or M.Sc. / M.E. / M.Tech. in related disciplines. Candidates with M.Sc. in Mathematics / Applied Physics / Applied Mathematics / Optics and Photonics / Instrumentation / Electronics will also be considered at IIA.

Graduates with a B.E. or B.Tech. will also be considered at IISc, IMSc, IUCAA, JNCASR, NCRA-TIFR, RRI, IISER Mohali, IISER Pune and SNBNCBS.

BE/ BTech/ BCA/ BSc students can also apply for the integrated MSc-PhD programme, see below.

In addition, talented final year B.Sc. and first year M.Sc. (in Physics / Electronics / Astronomy / Applied Mathematics) students may also apply to be pre-selected for research scholarship at IUCAA. Similar pre-selection is open at SNBNCBS for candidates who also have specialization in Bio-Physics, Optics and Opto-Electronics.

At IPR, candidates should have a Master's degree in Physics, Engineering Physics or Applied Physics. Visit websites of participating institutes for further details.

Theoretical Computer Science: M.Sc./ M.E. / M.Tech. / M.C.A. in Computer Science and related disciplines, and should be interested in the mathematical aspects of computer science. Visit website of IMSc for further details.

Integrated M.Sc./M.Tech. – Ph.D. Programme:

At HRI, IISER Pune, NCRA-TIFR and SNBNCBS, candidates with a Bachelor’s degree will also be considered for the integrated M.Sc. – Ph.D. programme in Physics. At IMSc, graduates with B.Sc. / B.E. /
B. Tech. degree will also be considered for admission to M.Sc. (Research) programme in Physics and Theoretical Computer Science, as part of an integrated Ph.D. programme.

At SNBNCBS, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics/Mathematics) / B.E. / B.Tech. degree will be considered for the integrated Post-B.Sc.-Ph.D. programme in subject areas mentioned above.

At IIA, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics / Mathematics) / B.E. / B.Tech. in Electrical / Instrumentation / Engineering Physics / Electronics and Communications / Computer Science and Engineering / Optics and Photonics will be considered.

Integrated M.Tech– Ph.D. Programme at IIA : Graduates with M.Sc. (Physics / Applied Physics) / Post-B.Sc (Hons) B.Tech in Optics and Photonics, Radiophysics and Electronics / B.E. / B.Tech. degree in subjects mentioned above will be considered. Visit IIA website for details.

How To Apply

Candidates for Physics / Theoretical Computer Science can apply for JEST-2011 ON-LINE through . Although ON-LINE applications are preferred, for those who have difficulty in accessing internet, hard copy of the application form can be requested by writing to The Registrar, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, CIT Campus, Tharamani, Chennai-600113, Tamil Nadu.

Email applications and photocopies of printed applications will not be accepted.

Contact Details

Address: CIT Campus, Tharamani, Chennai-600113, Tamil

Entrance Date


Test Centers

Ahmedabad, Aligarh, Allahabad, Bangalore, Bardhaman, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Madurai, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nainital, Patna, Pune, Raipur, Roorkee, Sambalpur, Silchar, Siliguri, Thiruvananthapuram, Udaipur and Visakhapatnam.

Application Forms Now Available

Subscribe to our Newsletter