TestDaF Exam Pattern 2013

The exam pattern for TestDaF is as follows.

TestDaf consists of four sections, namely reading comprehension, listening comprehension, written production and oral production. Candidates are rated separately for each section. All topics and assignments in the test are covered within the general context of higher education. They are designed for all academic disciplines. The total duration of the examination is three hours and 10 minutes. This can be broken down as follows:

  1. Reading comprehension: 60 minutes
  2. Listening comprehension: 40 minutes
  3. Written production: 60 minutes
  4. Oral production: 30 minutes

In the reading section, you might be asked to prove your understanding of written text and relate them accordingly. The listening comprehension may test your ability to understand spoken texts, which may include a dialogue typical of everyday life, a radio interview and a short lecture or interview with an expert. The written section may require you to write a text dealing with a specific topic, while in the oral section you might be asked to prove your ability to speak German.

Applicants are graded according to three levels as listed below:

  • TestDaF - level 5 (TDN 5)
  • TestDaF - level 4 (TDN 4)
  • TestDaF - level 3 (TDN 3)

These levels are equivalent to the levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Language (CEFR). The test measures German language ability at an intermediate to high level. The TestDaF is officially recognized as the language entry exam for students from abroad. Candidates who have cleared at least TDN 4 in each section are eligible for admission to a German institution of higher education.

Subscribe to our Newsletter