NATA - National Aptitude Test in Architecture

NATAThe National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) is a test that evaluates a candidate's aptitude to study architecture. Any student who plans to take admission to a Bachelors in Architecture (B.Arch.) course offered by any institute/college of architecture in India (including government, government-aided, private unaided, university departments, deemed universities), should take the NATA.

The NATA is conducted by the Council of Architecture, which is an autonomous statutory body of the government of India and is the competent and final authority that fixes the norms and standards for the architectural institutions. It has the necessary expertise to hold a common aptitude test in architecture at the national level.

Council of Architecture

NATA would be conducted in all major cities of India. This test consists of two parts:

  • Paper-based drawing test
  • Computer-based aesthetic sensitivity test

Exam dates

Students can appear for NATA on any working day starting from 16 April, 2017 onward until further update from the designated test centres.

Appointments for the test are made on a first come, first served basis. Candidates should register well in advance to get their preferred test date.

Eligibility criteria

A candidate is eligible to appear for NATA after clearing the class 10 exam (or equivalent). However, in order to apply for a B.Arch. course, the candidate should have cleared the 10+2 exam (or equivalent) with at least 50 percent marks and with mathematics as one of the subjects.

Application form

NATA 2017 application forms (along with the information brochure) can be purchased from designated branches of ICICI bank from 2 Jan, 2017 onward. The detailed registration procedure for NATA 2017 can be viewed on the NATA 2017 registration process page.

Exam fees

The NATA test fee is included in the price (Rs.1250) of the NATA application form and information brochure. This amount needs to be paid while purchasing the NATA 2017 application form and brochure from the designated branches of ICICI bank. You can download the bank challan here.

Exam pattern

NATA consists of two parts:

  • Paper-based drawing test
  • Computer-based aesthetic sensitivity test

Get complete information on the NATA 2017 exam pattern.

NATA Scores

A candidate planning to apply to any architecture college must score at least 40 percent in NATA (at least 80/200) to be eligible for admission to the B.Arch. course, according to the Council of Architecture admission guidelines.

Scoring process for the drawing test: A panel of three examiners will independently review each answer and the average of the marks they award to each answer will be considered. In this section, a candidate's drawing, imagination and observation skills along with his sense of proportion, perspective, sense for colour and composition will be evaluated.

Scoring process for the aesthetic sensitivity test: This computer-based test has adaptive testing, where the difficulty level of the questions would change according the candidate's ability level. When a correct answer is given, the next question would be more difficult, whereas if a wrong answer is given the next question would be easier. The final score would depend on the average difficulty level of all the questions and of those questions answered correctly. For example, a candidate with correct answers for a lesser number of higher difficulty questions may score more marks than a candidate with a higher number of correct answers for less difficult questions.

NATA Results

The NATA 2017 result (the NATA 2017 score card) can be accessed online on the NATA website. A candidate's score card will be uploaded on the website by the fourth working day after the test.

A candidate's original score card can be retrieved by any admission authority directly from the NATA server. Only the score card stored on the NATA server is considered valid and no print/hard copy will be considered valid. However, if an admission authority asks for it, the candidate can use the printout of the score card while applying.

A candidate's NATA score is retained for two years from the date of the test last taken.

NATA Contact Details

Council Of Architecture (COA)

(A Statutory Autonomous Body of Government of India under the Architects Act, 1972)
India Habitat Centre, Core 6-A, 1st Floor, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110 003
Tel :011-24648415, 24654172,
Fax : 011-2464774

E-mail :, Web:

The Director
National Institute of Advanced Studies in Architecture (NIASA)

CDSA Campus, Survey no. 58 & 49/4, Bavdhan Khurd, Paud-Pirangut Road,
(Before Ambrosia Resort; Off Chandni Chowk)
Pune – 411021
Maharashtra, India
Telephone: 020-6573-1088 (10am - 4pm)
Tele-fax: 020-2295-2262
Email :,



Subscribe to our Newsletter