AFCAT 2017 Exam Pattern

Exam Pattern for AFCAT

Get familiar with the exam pattern of AFCAT, if you intend to appear for it to become an officer in the Indian Air Force:

I) The duration of the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT 2015) is two hours during which the candidates must answer multiple choice questions on:

i) Verbal ability
ii) Numerical ability
iii) Reasoning
iv) General awareness
v) Military aptitude

There is another test , the  Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT) that only candidates applying for the technical branch need to take. EKT will be a 45 minutes long test and would be held immediately after AFCAT.

Sample question papers and syllabus are available on IAF career website.

Selection Procedure

II) If you get shortlisted on the basis of AFCAT, you will be called for further testing at one of the Air Force Selection Boards (AFSBs) at Dehradun, Mysore, Gandhinagar or Varanasi. The testing will comprise of three stages:

i) Stage I- This stage is for screening - those who do not qualify will not proceed to the next stage. Th two tests in this stage are:

  • Officer Intelligence rating Test
  • Picture perception and Discussion Test

ii) Stage II - In this stage, a series of tests are conducted over a span of 3 - 4 days:

  • Psychological Tests: written tests conducted by a psychologist.
  • Group Tests: interactive indoor and outdoor activities that test your mental and physical capabilities
  • Interview: personal interaction with an interviewing officer.

iii) For Flying Branch: Pilot Aptitude Battery Test (PABT) will be administered in a single day. The PABT tests your aptitude to be a pilot. If you want to be selected into the flying branch of the IAF, you need to clear the PABT which has 3 parts:

a) Instrument Battery Test (INSB): a paper pencil test that again has two parts. This test will check your ability to read and interpret the dials of an aircraft's instrument panel. If you qualfiy in this written test you will have to take the next two machine tests.
b) Sensory Motor Apparatus Test (SMA): a machine test that checks your psychomotor co-ordination skills.
c) Control Velocity Test (CVT): again a machine test that checks your psychomotor co-ordination skills.

Note: You can appear for the PABT only once. If you fail, you can't apply again for AFCAT.

III) If you clear the tests by the Air Force Selection Board (AFSB), your medical examination will be done at Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME), New Delhi or Institute of Aviation Medicine, Bengaluru.

IV) If you are declared to be medically fit, your name would appear in the "All India Merit List" that would be prepared on the basis of your AFCAT score and AFSB score. You can then join one of the training institutes of the IAF.

Subscribe to our Newsletter