UPSC Special Class Railway Apprentices' (SCRA) Exam 2014

Special Class Railway Apprentices' (SCRA) Exam 2014 will be held across India in 42 cities on 12 January, 2014. The test is a written exam conducted by the UPSC for appointment in the Mechanical Department of Indian Railways as a special class apprentice. Approximately 42 vacancies are available this year and are planned to be filled in part based on exam results.

SCRA 2014 Important Dates

Date of notification

5 October 2013

Online registration opens

6 October 2013

Last date for submission of applications

4 November 2013

Exam date

12 January 2014

Results announced

March/April 2014

Results will be announced in March or April of 2014. Candidates should keep necessary documents ready to submit to the Commission upon announcement of the written part of the exam.

SCRA 2014 Eligibility Criteria

In order to take the exam, you must have passed the Intermediate or equivalent in the first or second division with math and physics and/or chemistry as exam subjects. You are also eligible if you have passed the Higher Secondary Examination in the 10+2 system with the exam subjects of math and physics and/or chemistry. Visit the SCRA eligibility criteria page for detailed information.

Candidates should also be physically fit in accordance with physical standards for admission.

SCRA 2014 Exam Pattern

The test consists of two parts, a written examination and a personality test. Only the written exam would be conducted on 12 January 2014.

The written exam has three parts, each part is allocated two hours.


Maximum marks


General Ability Test (English, General Knowledge and Psychological Test)



Physical Sciences (Physics and Chemistry)





Total marks


Visit the SCRA exam pattern & syllabus page to get details about the written exam & interview format

Admit Card

The e-Admit Card for the SCRA exam is available on the UPSC website for downloading. The e-Admission Certificate is available online three weeks before the exam.

SCRA 2014 Application Process

If you are interested in applying to take the test, you must apply online. The application is only available online through the UPSC website. You can fill in your Online Application Form and pay the required fee. The fee for candidates is Rs. 100/- (payment is exempted for female/Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe/Physically Handicapped candidates). The fee may be deposited in cash at any SBI branch. More details of the application are available online.

The form is available from 6 October 2013 to 4 November 2013. After that, the link will not be available.

SCRA 2014 Exam Centres

SCRA 2014 will be conducted in 42 cities across India. Visit the SCRA exam centres page for further details.

For more details on SCRA preparation tips, you can visit our SCRA Exam page.

Subscribe to our Newsletter