NEET PG Exam Pattern

NEET PG is conducted by the National Board of Examinations (NBE).

Details about the exam pattern of NEET PG (National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test for Post Graduate courses) are as follows:

1.NEET-PG is a qualifying-cum-ranking examination for admission to MD/MS/PG Diploma Courses in medical institutions recognized for running these courses under the ambit of Post Graduate Medical Education Regulations.

2. There will 240 multiple choice (MCQ), single correct response questions in English language only in NEET-PG.

3. NEET PG will be a computer based test (CBT), i.e. the examination shall be a multiple choice questions test delivered using computers network as per scheme prescribed.

4.The weightage of MCQs as indicated in the prescribed NEET PG syllabus is indicative and purely provisional. The NBE that conducts NEET PG can alter /vary /amend the wihtage of the MCQs.

5.There shall be no negative marking in NEET-PG.

6. NEET-PG is of 195 minutes - that includes 15 minutes of test tutorial time and 180 minutes for attempting the test.

7. Allocation of time for the NEET-PG shall be as follows:


Forenoon Session

Afternoon Session

Candidate Entry Time

09:00 AM

2:15 PM

Venue Entry Closes

09:30 AM

2:45 PM

Check-in Procedures

09:00 AM - 10:00 AM

2:15 PM - 3:15 PM

Test Start Time

10:00 AM

3:15 PM

Test End Time

01:15 PM

6:30 PM

Note: Candidates shall be allocated to appear either in FORENOON session or in the AFTERNOON session i.e. the NEET-PG comprises of only ONE session per candidate.

Subscribe to our Newsletter