NEET 2017 will now be conducted in 10 languages

Published on: Author:

NEET 2017

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Exam (NEET) 2017 will now be conducted in 10 languages. Earlier, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) had announced that NEET 2017 was to be conducted in 8 languages. According to the previous notification by CBSE, NEET 2017 for under graduate and postgraduate courses was to be held in the following 8 languages — Hindi, English, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu. The 2 new additions to the existing languages are Oriya and Kannada.

Also Read: NEET 2017

Urdu is however not included in the list of regional languages for NEET. In January 2017, a request was made by a student organization to the Medical Council of India to include Urdu as one of the regional languages that can be used for the exam. Over 1300 signatures have been gathered through the online petition for NEET to be conducted in Urdu too.

NEET is now mandatory for admissions into any medical or dental college across India. It replaced AIPMT last year. No separate medical entrance exam can be conducted by a state. This decision has met quite a resistance especially in the state of Tamil Nadu.

Also Read: NEET 2017 Online Registration

The registration process started on January 30, and will end on March 1, 2017. The eligible candidates should be between the ages of 17 and 25. Go register yourself.

About Ileana Sharangpani

Ileana is a fresh face in content writing although her love for writing dates back to her school days. She is an avid tennis fan and has indulged in lawn tennis, basketball, hockey and volleyball during her school and college days. A foodie at heart, she likes to try different cuisines at every chance she gets. Professionally she has tried her hand at finance before content writing beckoned her. Already bitten by the travel bug, she hopes to explore different places in India and abroad.

Subscribe to our Newsletter