Category-wise Listing of Universities in India

Universities in India are divided into State Universities, Central Universities, Deemed Universities and Private Universities. There are also UGC funded Young Universities and Universities formed under the Act of Act of State Legislature, Centres of Excellence and Institutes of National Importance. For a complete list of Universities in India under several categories, click on the links below:

Graduation day

Picture Courtesy:

  1. State Universities

What are State Universities?

These are universities managed by the public authorities of a particular State

  1. Central Universities

What are Central Universities?

Universities established by Act of Parliament and recognized by University Grants Commission (UGC)

  1. Deemed Universities

What are Deemed Universities?

Educational institutions equivalent to the stature of Universities which are declared by the Central Government on the advice of UGC to declare them as "deemed to be universities"

  1. Private Universities

What are Private Universities?

Universities that are not operated by the government

Other Universities include:

  1. Young Universities
  2. Centres of Excellence
  3. Institutes of National Importance
  4. Universities in Backward Areas
  5. Status of Deemed to be University Status
  6. University with Potential of Excellence
  7. Universities under State Legislature

Subscribe to our Newsletter