Booker Prize Winners

Booker Prize Winners

1969 P. H. Newby 

Something to Answer For

1970 Bernice Rubens

The Elected Member

1971 V. S. Naipul

In a Free State

1972 John Berger


1973 J. G. Farrell

Siege of Krishnapur

1974  Stanley Middleton



Nadine Gordimer 
The Conversationalist 

1975    Ruth Prawer Jhabvala  
Heat and Dust

1976 David Storey


1977  Paul Scott

Staying On

1978 Iris Murdoch
The Sea, The Sea
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald


1980 William Golding

Rites of Passage

1981 Salman Rushdie

Midnight's Children

1982 Thomas Keneally

Schindler's Ark

1983 J. M. Coetzee 

Life and Times of Michael K.

1984 Anita Brookner 

Hotel Du Lac

1985 Keri Hulme 

Bone People

1986 Kingsley Amis 

The Old Devils

1987  Penelope Lively

Moon Tiger

1988 Peter Carey

Oscar and Lucinda

1989  Kazuo Ishiguro

The Remains of the Day

1990 A. S. Byatt 


1991 Ben Okri 

The Famished Road

1992   Michael Ondaatje 

The English Patient 


Barry Unsworth 

Sacred Hunger

1993 Roddy Doyle

Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha

1994 James Kelman 

How Little It Was, How Late

1995 Pat Barker 

The Ghost Road

1996 Graham Swift 

Last Orders

1997 Arundhati Roy 

The God of Small Things

1998 Ian McEwan


1999 J.M. Coetzee 


2000 Margaret Atwood

The Blind Assassin

2001 Peter Carey

True History of the Kelly Gang


 2002 : Yann  Martrel  for his novel ,Life of Pi   

2003  :  Pierre DBC for his novel     Vernon God Little

Subscribe to our Newsletter