Major Scientific Institutions

Physical And Earth Sciences

  • Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, Pilani
  • Central Scientific Instruments Organisation, Chandigarh
  • National Geo-Physical Research Institute, Hyderabad
  • National Institute of Oceanography, Panaji, Goa
  • National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi
  • National Science Centre, New Delhi

Chemical Sciences

  • Central Electro Chemical Research Institute, Karaikudi
  • Central Fuel Research Institute, Dhanbad
  • Central Salt and Marine Chemical Research Institute, Bhavnagar
  • Indian Institute of Petroleum, Dehradun
  • National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

Biological Sciences

  • Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
  • Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore
  • Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants, Lucknow
  • Central Leather Research Institute, Chennai
  • Central Public Health Engineering Research Institute, Nagpur
  • Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad
  • Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata
  • Industrial Toxicology Research Centre, Lucknow
  • Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh
  • National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow


  • Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee
  • Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, Jadhavpur Kolkata
  • Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, Durgapur, West Bengal
  • Central Mining Research Station, Dhanbad, Jharkhand
  • Central Road Research Institute, New Delhi
  • Electrical Research and Development Association, Vadodhara
  • National Aeronautical Laboratory, Bangalore
  • National Environmental Engineering Research Institute, Nagpur
  • National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur
  • Structural Engineering Research Centre, Chennai, Ghaziabad and Roorkee

Information Sciences

  • Indian National Scientific Documentation Centre, New Delhi
  • National Institute of Science, Technology and Developmental Science, New Delhi

Agriculture Research

  • Central Agriculture Research Institute, Port Blair and Bhopal
  • Central Arid Zone Research Institute, Jodhpur
  • Central Institute for Cotton Research, Nagpur
  • Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochin
  • Central Plantation Crops Research Institute, Kasargod, Kerala
  • Central Potato Research Institute, Shimla
  • Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttuck
  • Central Rubber Crops Research Institute, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Central Soil and Water Conservation Research and Training Institute, Dehradun
  • Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal
  • Central Tobacco Research Institute, Rajahmundary
  • Cotton Technological Research Laboratory, Mumbai
  • Indian Agriculture Research Institute, New Delhi
  • Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi
  • Indian Institute of Horticulture Research, Bangalore
  • Indian Institute of Soil Sciences, Bhopal
  • Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Dilkusha, Lucknow
  • Indian Lac Research Institute, Ranchi
  • Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar
  • Jute Agriculture Research Institute, 24 Pargana, Barrackpore, West Bengal
  • Jute Technological Research Laboratory, Kolkata
  • National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, New Delhi
  • National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal
  • National Institute of Animal Genetics, Karnal
  • National Research Centre for Groundnut, Junagarh

Scientific Museums

  • Birla Industrial And Technological Museum, Kolkata
  • Indian National Scientific Documentation Centre, New Delhi
  • Visvesvaraya Industrial and Technological Museum, Bangalore

Cooperative Research

  • Ahmedabad Textile Industry's Research Association, Ahmedabad
  • Automotive Research  Association of India, Mumbai
  • Bombay Textile Research Association, Mumbai
  • Cement Research Institute of India, Ballabhgarh
  • Indian Jute Industries Research Association, Kolkata
  • Indian Plywood Industries Research Institute, Bangalore
  • Silk and Art Silk Mills' Research Association, Mumbai
  • South India Textile Research  Association, Coimbatore
  • Tocklai Experimental Station, Jorhat
  • Wool Research Association, Mumbai

Medical Research

  • All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
  • All India Institute of Speech and Hearing, Mysore
  • Cholera Research Centre, Kolkata
  • Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi
  • Institute of Research in Reproduction, Mumbai
  • National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Diseases, Kolkata
  • National Institute of Occupational Health, Ahmedabad
  • National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad
  • National Institute of Virology, Pune
  • Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh
  • Tuberculosis research Centre, Chennai

Study of Diseases and Treatment

  • All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Kolkata
  • Cancer Institute, Kolkata
  • Central Drugs Laboratory, Kolkata
  • Central Leprosy Teaching and Research Institute, Chingleput
  • Chittranjan Cancer Research Centre, Kolkata
  • Indian Cancer Research Centre, Mumbai
  • National Institute of Communicable Diseases, Delhi
  • National Tuberculosis Institute, Bangalore
  • School of Tropical Medicine, Kolkata
  • Vallabhbhai Patel Chest Institute, Delhi

Micro-Biology and Related Studies

  • Central Research Institute, Kasauli
  • Haffkine Institute, Mumbai
  • King Institute of Preventive Medicine, Guindy, Chennai
  • Pasteur Institute, Coonoor

Departmental Research Centres

  • Anthropological Survey of India, Kolkata
  • Central Water Power Research Station, Khadakvasla, Pune
  • Central Power Research Institute, Bangalore and Bhopal
  • Forest Research Institute, Dehradun
  • Geological Survey of India, Kolkata
  • Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune
  • Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Mumbai
  • Indian Roads Congress, New Delhi (Ministry of Transport)
  • Telecommunication Research Centre (P&T Department)
  • Research Designs and Standards Organisation, Lucknow (Railways)

Nuclear Research

  • Atomic Energy Commission, Mumbai
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay, Mumbai
  • Electronics Corporation of India, Hyderabad
  • High Altitude Research Laboratory, Gulmarg, Kashmir
  • Indian Rare Earths Limited, Alwaye
  • Radio Astronomy Centre, Ootacamund
  • Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
  • Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai
  • Uranium Corporation of India, Jaduguda (Bihar)

Space Research

  • Indian Scientific Satellite Project, Bangalore
  • Indian Space Research Organisation, Bangalore
  • Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
  • Propelling Fuel Complex, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Satellite Launch Vehicle Project, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad
  • Space Commission, Bangalore
  • Sriharikota Range, Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh
  • Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station, Thumba, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram

Subscribe to our Newsletter